1 in stock


Van Halen – Debut
(Warner Bros Records  K56470)
Matrix No’s: A1/B2 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
– a little wear to edges and a little ringwear rubbing top & bottom

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Van Halen were an American rock band formed in Pasadena, California in 1972. Credited with “restoring hard rock to the forefront of the music scene”, Van Halen is known for its energetic live shows and for the work of its acclaimed lead guitarist, Eddie Van Halen. The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2007.

From 1974 until 1985, Van Halen consisted of Eddie Van Halen; Eddie’s brother, drummer Alex Van Halen; vocalist David Lee Roth; and bassist Michael Anthony. Upon its release in 1978, the band’s self-titled debut album reached No. 19 on the Billboard pop music charts and would go on to sell over 10 million copies in the U.S. From 1979 to 1982, the band released four albums (Van Halen II, Women and Children First, Fair Warning, and Diver Down), all of which have since been certified multi-platinum. By the early 1980s, Van Halen was one of the most successful rock acts of the time. The album 1984 was a commercial success with U.S. sales of 10 million copies and four hit singles; its lead single, “Jump”, is the band’s only U.S. number one single to date and was internationally known.

In 1985, Roth left the band to embark on a solo career and was replaced by former Montrose lead vocalist Sammy Hagar. With Hagar, the group released four U.S. number-one, multi-platinum albums over the course of 11 years (5150 in 1986, OU812 in 1988, For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge in 1991, and Balance in 1995). Hagar left the band in 1996 shortly before the release of the band’s first greatest hits collection, Best Of – Volume I. Former Extreme frontman Gary Cherone replaced Hagar and recorded the commercially unsuccessful album Van Halen III with the band in 1998, before parting ways in 1999. Van Halen then went on hiatus until reuniting with Hagar in 2003 for a worldwide tour in 2004 and the double-disc greatest hits collection The Best of Both Worlds. Hagar again left Van Halen in 2005. In 2006, Roth returned as lead vocalist and Anthony was replaced on bass guitar by Wolfgang Van Halen, Eddie’s son. In 2012, the band released the commercially and critically successful A Different Kind of Truth.

As of March 2019, Van Halen is 20th on the RIAA list of best-selling artists in the United States; the band has sold 56 million albums in the States and more than 80 million worldwide, making them one of the best-selling groups of all time. As of 2007, Van Halen was one of only five rock bands with two studio albums that sold more than 10 million copies in the United States and is also tied for the most multi-platinum albums by an American band. Additionally, Van Halen has charted 13 number-one hits on Billboards Mainstream Rock chart. VH1 ranked the band seventh on a list of the top 100 hard rock artists of all time.

On October 6, 2020, Eddie Van Halen died from cancer. He had first confirmed his initial cancer diagnosis in April 2001.

Van Halen is the debut studio album by American rock band Van Halen, released in February 1978.

Recorded in 1977, Van Halen sold over ten million copies in the US alone, becoming one of the most successful debuts by a rock band. Along with 1984, it gives Van Halen two original albums with diamond status in sales.

The album cover was shot at the Whisky a Go Go. The guitar pictured on the cover of the album is Edward Van Halen‘s famous Frankenstrat Guitar, made from a neck purchased from Boogie Bodies and a Stratocaster style body custom made by Wayne Charvel in California and assembled in his parents’ garage.

In 2003, the album was ranked #415 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. In 2006, Guitar World readers ranked it #7 on a list of the Greatest Guitar Albums of All Time.

In the band’s licensed game, Guitar Hero: Van Halen, nine of the eleven tracks of this album are available for play; only “Little Dreamer” and “On Fire” do not appear in the game.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Eddie Van Halen, Alex Van Halen, Michael Anthony and David Lee Roth, except where noted.

Side A
No. Title Length
1. “Runnin’ with the Devil” 3:36
2. “Eruption” (Instrumental) 1:43
3. “You Really Got Me” (Ray Davies) 2:38
4. “Ain’t Talkin’ ’bout Love” 3:50
5. “I’m the One” 3:47
Side B
No. Title Length
1. “Jamie’s Cryin'” 3:31
2. “Atomic Punk” 3:02
3. “Feel Your Love Tonight” 3:43
4. “Little Dreamer” 3:23
5. “Ice Cream Man” (John Brim) 3:20
6. “On Fire” 3:01


Band members

  • David Lee Roth – lead vocals, acoustic guitar on “Ice Cream Man” (credited as David Roth)
  • Eddie Van Halen – guitar, backing vocals
  • Michael Anthony – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Alex Van Halen – drums
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “VAN HALEN – DEBUT LP – Nr MINT A1/B2 UK”
Back to Top