1 in stock


Wings – Venus and Mars
(Capitol Records  1975  SMAS11419  US Pressing)

Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– some slight wear to edges – hype sticker top right
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
Posters in Nr MINT condition
No Stickers

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are 1 or 2 surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Wings, also known as Paul McCartney and Wings, were an Anglo-American rock band formed in 1971 by former Beatle Paul McCartney with his wife Linda on keyboards, session drummer Denny Seiwell, and former Moody Blues guitarist Denny Laine. Wings were noted for frequent personnel changes as well as commercial success, going through three lead guitarists and four drummers. However, the core trio of the McCartneys and Laine remained intact throughout the group’s existence and McCartney continued playing bass and other assorted instruments, just as he had done with The Beatles.

Created following the McCartneys’ 1971 album Ram, the band’s first two albums, Wild Life and Red Rose Speedway (the latter featuring guitarist Henry McCullough), were viewed as artistic disappointments beside Paul McCartney’s work with the Beatles. After the release of the title track of the James Bond movie Live and Let Die, McCullough and Seiwell resigned from the band. The McCartneys and Laine then released 1973’s Band on the Run, a commercial and critical success that spawned two top ten singles in “Jet” and the title track. Following that album, the band recruited guitarist Jimmy McCulloch and drummer Geoff Britton, only for Britton to quit shortly afterwards and be replaced by Joe English. With the new line-up, Wings released Venus and Mars, which included the US number one single “Listen to What the Man Said”, and undertook a highly successful world tour over 1975–76. Intended as more of a group effort, Wings at the Speed of Sound was issued midway through the tour and featured the hit singles “Silly Love Songs” and “Let ‘Em In”.

In 1977, the band earned their only UK number one single, with “Mull of Kintyre”, which became the then-best selling UK single in history. Wings experienced another line-up shuffle, however, with both McCulloch and English departing before the release of the group’s 1978 album London Town. The McCartneys and Laine again added new members, recruiting guitarist Laurence Juber and drummer Steve Holley. The resulting album, Back to the Egg, was a relative flop, with its singles under-performing and the critical reception negative. During the supporting tour, Paul McCartney was arrested in Japan for cannabis possession, putting the band on hold. Despite a final US number one, the live version of McCartney’s solo single “Coming Up”, Wings broke up permanently in 1981.

Venus and Mars is the fourth album by Wings. Released as the follow-up to the enormously successful Band on the Run, Venus and Mars continued Wings’ string of success and would prove a springboard for a year-long worldwide tour. It was Paul McCartney’s first post-Beatles release under the Capitol Records label.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Paul & Linda McCartney (listed as “McCartney”) except as noted. 

Side One  
No. Title Writer(s) Length  
1. “Venus and Mars”     1:20
2. “Rock Show”     5:31
3. “Love in Song”     3:04
4. “You Gave Me the Answer”     2:15
5. “Magneto and Titanium Man”     3:16
6. “Letting Go”     4:33
Side Two  
No. Title Writer(s) Length  
7. “Venus and Mars (Reprise)”     2:05
8. “Spirits of Ancient Egypt” (lead vocals by Denny Laine)   3:04
9. “Medicine Jar” (lead vocals by Jimmy McCulloch) Jimmy McCulloch, Colin Allen 3:37
10. “Call Me Back Again”     4:58
11. “Listen to What the Man Said”     4:01
12. “Treat Her Gently/Lonely Old People”     4:21
13. “Crossroads Theme”   Tony Hatch 1:00


  • Paul McCartney: vocals, bass guitar, guitars, keyboards, piano
  • Linda McCartney: keyboards, vocals
  • Denny Laine: guitars, keyboards, vocals
  • Jimmy McCulloch: guitars, vocals
  • Joe English: drums, percussion
  • Geoff Britton: drums

Additional personnel

  • Kenneth “Afro” Williams: congas
  • Dave Mason: guitar
  • Tom Scott: saxophone
  • Allen Toussaint: piano, keyboards
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Back to Top