1 in stock


Wishbone Ash – Locked In
(MCA Records  1976  MCF2750)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

G&L Sleeve in Excellent condition
– some ringwear top & bottom & on back

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are a few surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Wishbone Ash are a British rock band who achieved success in the early and mid-1970s. Their popular albums included Wishbone Ash (1970), Pilgrimage (1971), Argus (1972), There’s the Rub (1974), and New England (1976). Wishbone Ash are noted for their extensive use of the harmony twin lead guitar format which had been attracting electric blues bands since Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page had played together in the Yardbirds in 1966. Their contributions helped Andy Powell and Ted Turner to be voted “Two of the Ten Most Important Guitarists in Rock History” (Traffic magazine 1989), and to appear in the “Top 20 Guitarists of All Time” (Rolling Stone). Melody Maker (1972) described Powell and Turner as “the most interesting two guitar team since the days when Beck and Page graced The Yardbirds”. They have been cited as an influence by Iron Maiden founder and bassist Steve Harris, as well as Thin Lizzy and other dual guitar bands.

Formed in Torquay, Devon, in 1969, out of the ashes of trio The Empty Vessels (originally known as The Torinoes, later briefly being renamed Tanglewood in 1969), which had been formed by Wishbone Ash’s founding member Martin Turner (bass & vocals) in 1963 and complemented by Steve Upton (drums and percussion) in 1966. The original Wishbone Ash line-up was completed by guitarists/vocalists Andy Powell and Ted Turner. In 1974, Ted Turner left the band, and was replaced by Laurie Wisefield. The band continued on with strong critical and commercial success until 1980.

After revolving line-ups featuring former bass players from King Crimson (John Wetton), Uriah Heep (Trevor Bolder), and Trapeze (Mervyn Spence), Wisefield left in 1985. In 1987, however, the original line-up reunited for several albums – Nouveau Calls, Here to Hear and Strange Affair – until 1990, when Upton quit the band. After Martin Turner was replaced in 1991, the band recorded The Ash Live in Chicago, before Ted Turner left in 1993.

Locked In is the sixth studio album by the rock band Wishbone Ash. The album peaked at No. 36 in the UK Albums Chart in April 1976. Considered by many, including the band themselves, to be one of the weaker entries in their extensive catalog. The band frequently place the blame on producer Tom Dowd, who insisted the band play much quieter in the studio, removing much of the energy of their performances. The band had switched U.S. distribution from MCA Records to Atlantic Records for this and the next release, New England.

Track listing

All songs composed by Wishbone Ash, except where noted

  1. “Rest in Peace” – 6:41
  2. “No Water in the Well” (Laurie Wisefield) – 3:47
  3. “Moonshine” – 3:32
  4. “She Was My Best Friend” (Martin Turner) – 3:52
  5. “It Started in Heaven” (Wisefield, Steve Upton) – 3:16
  6. “Half Past Lovin'” – 5:30
  7. “Trust in You” – 5:03
  8. “Say Goodbye” (Turner, Wisefield) – 5:00


Wishbone Ash
  • Martin Turner – bass, vocals
  • Andy Powell – guitars, vocals
  • Laurie Wisefield – guitars, vocals
  • Steve Upton – drums
  • Pete Wood – keyboards
  • Cissy Houston, Sylvia Shemwell & Eunice Peterson – backing vocals on tracks 4 & 5


  • Producer: Tom Dowd
  • Recordists: Geoff Daking & Jay Borden
  • Mixdown: Geoff Daking, Jay Borden & Bobby Warner
  • Album art direction: Alan Sussman & Bob Defrin
  • Album cover illustration: Chris Corey
  • Album backliner photography: David Gahr
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “WISHBONE ASH – LOCKED IN LP – Nr MINT A1 UK PROG”
Back to Top