1 in stock


World Party – Private Revolution
(Ensign/Chrysalis Records  1986  L38734  Australian Press)

Sleeve in Excellent+/Nr MINT condition
– some wear to edges/corners
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)
World Party are a British musical group, which is essentially the solo project of its sole member, Karl Wallinger. He started the band in 1986 in London after leaving The Waterboys.

After a stint as musical director of a West End performance of The Rocky Horror Show, Wallinger joined a funk band called “The Out”, before joining Mike Scott’s Waterboys in 1984 to record the album A Pagan Place. After their third album in 1985, This Is the Sea, Wallinger departed to form World Party.

Recorded at Wallinger’s home in 1986, his debut album Private Revolution yielded two minor hits in the UK, “Private Revolution” and “Ship of Fools”. “Ship Of Fools”, however, did much better outside the UK — it reached no. 4 in Australia, no. 21 in New Zealand, and no. 27 in the US, in the process becoming the act’s only major international hit.

Between World Party’s first and second albums, Wallinger aided Sinéad O’Connor in recording her 1988 debut, The Lion and the Cobra. O’Connor, then an unknown, had appeared as a guest on World Party’s first album. She would go on to appear as a guest on the second LP as well.

Goodbye Jumbo, World Party’s second album, contained the minor UK hit singles “Way Down Now” and “Put the Message in the Box”.[1] Wallinger collaborated with fellow songwriter Guy Chambers on some of the tracks. Goodbye Jumbo was voted “album of the year” by Q magazine and was nominated for a Grammy Award for “best alternative music performance” in the US.

After the 1991 EP Thank You World (including a cover of The Beatles’ “Happiness Is a Warm Gun”), Wallinger recruited guitarist David Catlin-Birch and ex-Icicle Works drummer Chris Sharrock as fully-fledged members for 1993’s album Bang!. It reached no. 2 in the UK Albums Chart, with the track, “Is It Like Today?” (no. 19 on the UK Singles Chart) also becoming a moderately successful single in Europe. Following the success of Bang! World Party appeared at the Glastonbury Festival in 1994, at which they had previously played in 1987 and 1990.

In 1994, World Party recorded “When You Come Back to Me” for the Reality Bites soundtrack, influenced by David Bowie’s 1975 song “Young Americans”.

Their fourth album, Egyptology (1997), written following the death of Wallinger’s mother, was commercially unsuccessful, although “She’s the One” won an Ivor Novello Award and was subsequently recorded by Robbie Williams. Wallinger took a three-year break from World Party, before the release of Dumbing Up in 2000. However, in February 2001 he suffered an aneurysm that left him unable to speak.

After a five-year rehabilitation, in 2006 Wallinger re-emerged onto the scene. With his back catalogue reclaimed from EMI, a distribution deal was agreed (via his own Seaview label) with Universal, and he played his first live show in a decade at the South by Southwest festival in Texas, USA. He played additional US dates in 2006 including the Bonnaroo Festival in Tennessee. Big Blue Ball, a joint project with Peter Gabriel with production work by Stephen Hague was also released.

In September 2007, World Party supported Steely Dan in their first tour of Australia. The Best in Show compilation was released to celebrate the Australian tour.

In 2009 World Party toured the west coast of the USA, and appeared at Seattle’s Bumbershoot Festival and San Francisco’s Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival.

In 2012 World Party released a new five-CD/70-song collection of new songs, live recordings and cover versions titled Arkeology to critical acclaim. World Party toured extensively in America in 2012, and toured England for the first time in 12 years, ending with an appearance in November 2012 in London at the Royal Albert Hall.

Live dates and tours followed through 2015, and a 2013 UK show was issued as a 2CD set called World Party – Live!. World Party has not toured, released new material, or updated their website since the end of their 2015 North American tour.

Private Revolution is the 1986 debut album by the British rock band World Party. At this point, singer-songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Karl Wallinger was the only member of World Party, and the only person pictured on the cover.

Wallinger is assisted on this album by several session musicians, including Anthony Thistlethwaite, Steve Wickham and Sinéad O’Connor. Several other musicians listed in the credits are actually whimsically named pseudonyms for Wallinger himself (listed under “Performers” below).

All Come True is reminiscent of the 1966 single ‘Going All the Way’ by The Squires. It employs the same chords (Em D C), and the chorus uses the same melody.

Track listing

All songs written by Karl Wallinger except “Dance of the Hoppy Lads,” written by Wallinger with Stephen Wickham, and “All I Really Want to Do,” written by Bob Dylan.

  1. Private Revolution (4:01)
  2. Making Love (To the World) (2:30)
  3. Ship of Fools (4:27)
  4. All Come True (5:52)
  5. Dance of the Hoppy Lads (0:44)
  6. It Can Be Beautiful (Sometimes) (3:00)
  7. The Ballad of the Little Man (5:02)
  8. Hawaiian Island World (4:20)
  9. All I Really Want to Do (4:43)
  10. World Party (4:36)
  11. It’s All Mine (5:33)


  • Karl Wallinger — vocals, guitars, bass, sampling keyboards
  • Delahaye — percussion
  • Rufus Dove — electric guitars
  • Martin Finnucane — harp (“Dance of the Hoppy Lads”)
  • Ahmed Gottlieb — sitar and tabla
  • Millennium Mills — piano
  • Sinéad O’Connor — backing vocals (“Private Revolution”, “Hawaiian Island World”)
  • Anthony Thistlethwaite — saxophone (“Ship of Fools”)
  • Will Towyn — sampling keyboards
  • Steve Wickham — violin
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Back to Top