1 in stock


Deep Purple Mark I & II
(Purple Records  1974  1C18894865/66  German Pressing)
Matrix No’s: A1/B2/A1/B1

Gatefold Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
– some wear to edges

Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are a few light surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Deep Purple are an English rock band formed in Hertford in 1968. The band is considered to be among the pioneers of heavy metal and modern hard rock, although their musical approach changed over the years. Originally formed as a progressive rock band, the band shifted to a heavier sound in 1970. Deep Purple, together with Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath, have been referred to as the “unholy trinity of British hard rock and heavy metal in the early to mid-seventies”. They were listed in the 1975 Guinness Book of World Records as “the globe’s loudest band” for a 1972 concert at London’s Rainbow Theatre, and have sold over 100 million albums worldwide.

Deep Purple have had several line-up changes and an eight-year hiatus (1976–1984). The 1968–1976 line-ups are commonly labelled Mark I, II, III and IV. Their second and most commercially successful line-up consisted of Ian Gillan (vocals), Jon Lord (keyboards, backing vocals), Roger Glover (bass), Ian Paice (drums), and Ritchie Blackmore (guitar). This line-up was active from 1969 to 1973, and was revived from 1984 to 1989, and again from 1992 to 1993. The band achieved more modest success in the intervening periods between 1968 and 1969 with the line-up including Rod Evans (lead vocals) and Nick Simper (bass, backing vocals), between 1974 and 1976 (Tommy Bolin replacing Blackmore in 1975) with the line-up including David Coverdale (lead vocals) and Glenn Hughes (bass, vocals), and between 1989 and 1992 with the line-up including Joe Lynn Turner (vocals). The band’s line-up (currently including Ian Gillan, and guitarist Steve Morse from 1994) has been much more stable in recent years, although keyboardist Jon Lord’s retirement from the band in 2002 (being succeeded by Don Airey) left Ian Paice as the only original Deep Purple member still in the band.

Deep Purple were ranked number 22 on VH1’s Greatest Artists of Hard Rock programme and a poll on British radio station Planet Rock ranked them 5th among the “most influential bands ever”. The band received the Legend Award at the 2008 World Music Awards. Deep Purple (specifically Blackmore, Lord, Paice, Gillan, Glover, Evans, Coverdale and Hughes) were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2016.

Mark I & II is a 1973 UK only compilation album by Deep Purple featuring material originally released between 1968 and 1973. This double LP was released after Ian Gillan had left Deep Purple in June 1973.

This is the first album to feature the single A-sides “Emmaretta”, “Black Night”, “Strange Kind of Woman” and the B-side “When a Blind Man Cries” in the UK. “Woman from Tokyo” is the single edit and “Highway Star” is the Made in Japan live version.

Track listing

All songs written by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice except where indicated.

Mark I

Side one
  1. “Hush” (Joe South) – 4.22
  2. “Mandrake Root” (Ritchie Blackmore/Rod Evans/Jon Lord) – 6.03
  3. Why Didn’t Rosemary?” (Blackmore/Lord/Evans/Nick Simper/Ian Paice) – 4.56
  4. “Hey Joe” (Billy Roberts) – 7.21
Side two
  1. Wring That Neck” (Blackmore/Lord/Simper/Paice) – 5.11
  2. “Emmaretta” (Lord/Blackmore/Evans) – 2.58
  3. “Help!” (Lennon/McCartney) – 6.02
  4. “Chasing Shadows” (Lord/Paice) – 5.31

Mark II

Side three
  1. “Black Night” – 3.29
  2. “Speed King” – 5.49
  3. “Strange Kind of Woman” – 4.00
  4. “Into the Fire” – 3.29
  5. “When a Blind Man Cries” – 3.29
Side four
  1. “Smoke on the Water” – 5.49
  2. Woman from Tokyo” – 2.44
  3. “Highway Star” – 6.46


Deep Purple Mark I
  • Ritchie Blackmore – guitars
  • Rod Evans – vocals
  • Jon Lord – keyboards
  • Ian Paice – drums, percussion
  • Nick Simper – bass
Deep Purple Mark II
  • Ritchie Blackmore – guitars
  • Ian Gillan – vocals
  • Roger Glover – bass
  • Ian Paice – drums, percussion
  • Jon Lord – keyboards
Weight 2.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “DEEP PURPLE – MARK I & II 2LP – Nr MINT A1 BLACKMORE GILLAN”
Back to Top