1 in stock


Marshall Crenshaw
(Warner Bros Records  1982   K57010)
Matrix No’s: A1/B2

Sleeve in Excellent condition
– some wear to edges/corners

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Marshall Howard Crenshaw (born November 11, 1953) is an American musician, singer, songwriter, and guitarist best known for hit songs such as “Someday, Someway,” a US Top 40 hit in 1982, and “Whenever You’re on My Mind.” His music has roots in classic soul music and Buddy Holly—the latter to whom Crenshaw was often compared in the early days of his career, and whom he portrayed in the 1987 film La Bamba.

A quote from Trouser Press summed up Marshall Crenshaw’s early career: “Although he was seen as a latter-day Buddy Holly at the outset, he soon proved too talented and original to be anyone but himself.”

Marshall Crenshaw is the debut studio album by American musician Marshall Crenshaw. It was released on April 28, 1982 by Warner Bros. Records. Crenshaw, a performer in the musical Beatlemania, had begun to write songs for the album while staying in New York. The album was recorded with his backing band and producer Richard Gottehrer in a style Crenshaw felt was “sterile”.

Marshall Crenshaw was a promising debut for Crenshaw, reaching number 50 in the United States and featuring a hit single in “Someday, Someway.” Reviews were overwhelmingly positive and many of Crenshaw’s most famous songs, such as “Cynical Girl,” “Maryanne,” and “There She Goes Again,” were featured on the album.

Track listing

All tracks written by Marshall Crenshaw, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “There She Goes Again” 2:39
2. “Someday, Someway” 2:53
3. “Girls…” 3:04
4. “I’ll Do Anything” 3:03
5. “Rockin’ Around in N.Y.C.” 3:10
6. “The Usual Thing” 3:06
Side two
No. Title Length
1. “She Can’t Dance” (Crenshaw, Rick Cioffi, Fred Todd) 2:47
2. “Cynical Girl” 2:37
3. “Mary Anne” 2:57
4. “Soldier of Love (Lay Down Your Arms)” (Buzz Cason, Tony Moon) 2:39
5. “Not for Me” 2:38
6. “Brand New Lover” 2:39


  • Marshall Crenshaw – guitar, vocals (bass on bonus-track demos)
  • Chris Donato – bass, vocals
  • Robert Crenshaw – drums, vocals

Guest musicians

  • Tony Garnier – bass
  • Richard Gottehrer – percussion
  • Michael Osborne – percussion


Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MARSHALL CRENSHAW – DEBUT LP – Nr MINT 1982”
Back to Top