1 in stock


Genesis – In The Beginning
(Decca Records  1974  SKL4990)
UK Pressing

Front Laminated Sleeve in Very Good+ condition
 – some rippling to sleeve and some lifting of laminate on front

Vinyl in Nr MINT- condition
vinyl imperfection at the very start of Side 1 which gives some light knocks for the first few revolutions

Genesis are an English rock band that formed in 1967. The band currently consists of its three longest-tenured members – Tony Banks (keyboards) and Mike Rutherford (bass, guitar), who were founding members; and Phil Collins (vocals, drums), who first joined in 1970. Past members Peter Gabriel (vocals, flute), Steve Hackett (guitar) and Anthony Phillips (guitar), also played major roles in the band in its early years. Genesis are among the top 30 highest-selling recording artists of all time, with approximately 150 million albums sold worldwide.

In the late 1960s, with the release of their first album, Genesis’s music was initially regarded by the band and the fans as a pop experiment, referring to then-popular melodic pop. Then, over the course of a year, (beginning with their second album in mid-1970) they quickly evolved into a progressive rock band with the incorporation of complex song structures and elaborate instrumentation. Their concerts became theatrical experiences with innovative stage design, pyrotechnics, extravagant costumes and on-stage stories. This second phase was characterised by lengthy performances such as the 23-minute “Supper’s Ready” and the 1974 concept album, The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway. In the late ’70s and early ’80s the band’s musical direction changed once again, becoming more pop oriented and commercially accessible. This resulted in their first top 40 single in the US with “Follow You Follow Me”, their first number one album in the United Kingdom, Duke, and their only number one single in the United States, “Invisible Touch”.

Genesis has undergone several personnel changes throughout its history. Stage fright forced founding member Anthony Phillips to leave the band in 1970. In 1975, Collins, then the band’s drummer, replaced Peter Gabriel as lead singer after a lengthy search for a replacement. To facilitate Collins’s move to lead vocals during concerts, Bill Bruford and Chester Thompson played drums for the band as they toured, with Collins joining in briefly during lengthy instrumental passages. In 1977, guitarist Steve Hackett left the band. After Phil Collins left the band in 1996, Genesis recruited Ray Wilson (formerly of Stiltskin). Wilson appeared on the 1997 album Calling All Stations, after which the band announced an indefinite hiatus. However, in 2007, Banks, Collins and Rutherford reunited for a 20-city tour of Europe and North America, which included a free concert at Rome’s Circo Massimo in front of 500,000 fans. Genesis were among five bands inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010. The future of the band remains uncertain with Collins’s retirement from the music business and the other members’ solo work.

From Genesis to Revelation is the first studio album by the British band Genesis. It was released in March 1969 on Decca Records in England (London Records in North America). It was produced by Jonathan King, who discovered them in 1967 while the members of Genesis were pupils at Charterhouse School, King’s alma mater. It was reissued in various regions, including the United Kingdom (home country), as In the Beginning (first in 1974) and then part of Decca’s Rock Roots repackaging series in 1976 before reverting to original title in recent reissues.

Track listing

All songs written by Anthony Phillips, Michael Rutherford, Peter Gabriel & Anthony Banks. Copyright Jonjo Music Co. Ltd. BMI

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “Where the Sour Turns to Sweet”   3:14
2. “In the Beginning”   3:42
3. “Fireside Song”   4:16
4. “The Serpent”   4:36
5. “Am I Very Wrong?”   3:28
6. “In the Wilderness”   3:21
Side two
No. Title Length
1. “The Conqueror”   3:44
2. “In Hiding”   2:56
3. “One Day”   3:16
4. “Window”   3:53
5. “In Limbo”   3:06
6. “Silent Sun”   2:08
7. “A Place to Call My Own”   1:57


  • Tony Banks: Farfisa & Hammond organs, acoustic & electric pianos, backing vocals
  • Peter Gabriel: lead vocals, flute
  • Anthony Phillips: acoustic & electric guitars, backing vocals
  • Mike Rutherford: bass guitar, acoustic & electric guitars, backing vocals
  • John Silver: drums (except on “Silent Sun”)
Additional personnel
  • Chris Stewart: drums on “Silent Sun”
  • Strings & horns arranged & conducted by Arthur Greenslade & Lou Warburton


  • Produced by Jonathan King
  • Recorded & Engineered by Brian Roberts & Tom Allom
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “GENESIS – IN THE BEGINNING LP – Nr MINT- DECCA PROG”
Back to Top